Objectification Nation

I published a post regarding sexual assault and its links to fraternities a while ago.  Now, the reality is that sexual assault (especially at large universities), is everywhere.  It’s often not reported, it’s often handled poorly (or not at all), and it certainly isn’t punished the way it is in the real world.  The world of being a woman at college is dangerous in lots of different arenas.  I know, because I am one.  I face this every day.  I still remember being catcalled for the first time my freshman year of college.  I also remember the second, the third, and every subsequent one it took me to realize I was not being complimented.  I was being objectified and harassed, simply for waiting at a bus stop or going to the grocery store.  This article compiles all the awful things (admittedly, extreme examples mostly) that women like me face in college.  Your mom, your sister, your cousin, your girlfriend, your wife; they’ve all seen or experience things like this.  We’ve all seen countless campaigns, pamphlets, slogans, and PSAs about assault and related topics.  What else can we do to put an end to this?

One comment on “Objectification Nation

  1. […] I’ve written about this issue before, both in my “Objectification Nation” post and in my “Not So Frat-tastic” post, so it should come as no surprise that […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

