Heinous Masquerade

By Peter Steiner

By Peter Steiner

There are very few topics I wont discuss on this blog.  That, however, doesn’t mean that I’m confident and comfortable in regards to every single topic.  This one, for example, I find incredibly distressing.  To be honest, writing this post has taken me probably five times longer than any other post.  A friend sent me a link to a video published by Vice News documenting the the threat of “Crisis Pregnancy Centers” and the similar institutions.  The video displays the work of undercover reporting via The Crisis Project and other investigative forces.  I encourage everyone who cares about the current state of women’s healthcare (and frankly, anyone who thinks they don’t too) to watch the video.

Trigger warning: the video contains aggressive language regarding pregnancy, abortion, and religion.

Because this blog is so openly opinionated, I’ll share my opinion here with you.  I think that women should have the power to choose what their bodies ingest, support, and produce.  I don’t think that concerns other people.  However, that isn’t my main beef with this video and investigation.  In light of the legislation in place, the restrictions placed upon, and the discrimination applied to abortion clinics, I have to wonder why so little is applied to these clinics.  If taxpayer money is going to be used for these “pregnancy support centers,” they should be ethical at the very least.  I can’t understand why public money would be applied to such a plainly biased institution.  On top of everything, I find myself outraged at the people allowed to operate within these facilities.  Impersonating a policeman is an offense taken very seriously and prosecuted harshly.  Impersonating a doctor should have the same severe restrictions.  They seem to have the same potential to harm people, so why shouldn’t the outrage be equal?  Misleading, exploiting, and harassing women who are vulnerable and asking for help is something that makes me physically shake with anger.  I don’t care whether you are pro-choice, pro-life, or somewhere in the middle.  This isn’t how an event this life-changing should be handled.  Regardless of the circumstances a woman asks for help in, she deserves basic respect and correct information.

It’s hard for me to understand how these clinics can continue to operate with this evidence available for public viewing.  There are politicians taking a stand, but there are far more claiming the pro-life movement and endorsing or ignoring these clinics.  This isn’t something to ignore.  This isn’t something to dismiss as “not my fight.”  Every day that these places continue to function, women are being verbally abused, lied to, and taken advantage of.  I can only hope that the more this information is shared, the more outraged people will be.  The more change is demanded, the more it will be achieved.  This needs to change.

One comment on “Heinous Masquerade

  1. […] enough, this article mirrors a lot of the issues and opinions I covered in my “Heinous Masquerade” post.  Seeing other people as concerned and devoted to change as I am is a bit […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

