ACA and Birth Control

4c654b53593be.image

By Phil Hands

I’m sure most people have now heard about Hobby Lobby and their “birth control scandal,” which resulted in the Supreme Court decision allowing their religion to determine what their insurance provided.  I will NEVER advocate for someone being forced to take medication or undergo procedures that interfere with their beliefs.  However, your beliefs should not affect my medical care.  My big issue with this is women who take/use different kinds of birth control for reasons other than extramarital sex (not that I have any issues with that either).  For example, polycystic ovarian syndrome runs in my family.  As a result, I have been on birth control for many years as a management technique.  I have friends who are married (but are not suited for pregnancy, and have dangerous complications in the past), who use birth control simply so they can enjoy the benefits of married life without endangering their own.  There are a million “legitimate” reasons to use birth control, and that should be covered in medical insurance, like any other medication.

To put it frankly, I don’t understand why religion has become such a big part of our government.  What ever happened to separation of church and state?

Leave a Reply

